Home   E-List Signup        Calendar  Training  Camping






Rio Grande CouncilCouncil Information


Physical Address: 6912 West Expressway 83, Harlingen, Texas 78552

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 2424, Harlingen, Texas 78551

Office: 956-423-0250 / Fax: 956-421-4950

Council Information

The Rio Grande Council serves five counties which include: Cameron, Hidalgo, Willacy, Starr and Zapata counties. The council is made up of four districts which include: Tip-o-Tex, Arroyo, Arrowhead and Rio Bravo.  The main office is in Harlingen, Texas, which provides a Service Center, a Scout Shop, Training Center and meeting rooms.

The Mission:

The mission of the Boy Scouts of America, is to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetime by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.



Executive Committee / Council officers


Council President

Manuel "Manny" Guerra III

Council Commissioner

Patricia Garcia

Council Treasurer

Carlos Muniz

Assistant Treasurer

Steve Shimotsu C.P.A.

V.P. Finance

Sandra Langley

V.P. Administration

Col. Glen Hill

V.P. Endowment

Chris Boswell Esq.

Nominating Comm. Chair

Uvaldo Cantu M.D.

Past President

Andy Hagan

    Professional Staff




Scout Executive

Rudy Gonzalez


Field Director

Ernest Espinoza ernest.espinoza@scouting.org

 Arrowhead District Director


Arroyo District Executive 



District Executive



  Rio Bravo

District Executive




             Support Staff





Registrar/FOS Clerk

Mike Huerta


Scout Store Clerk

 Ruby Ramirez






     Camp Service Staff

     Reservations of Camps      Ruby.Ramirez@scouting.org

Laguna Station Questions     Luis.Rodriguez@scouting.org

Camp Perry  Questions   Luis.Rodriguez@scouting.org

Employment Opportunities

To inquire about employment positions visit our LinkedIn site:

to see requirements for District Executive Positions Click Here

- District Executive positions

- Summer seasonal positions

To apply please email your resume to Luis.Rodriguez@scouting.org


District Geographic Details

Tip-o-Tex District           Click here 

Tip-o-Tex district covers the southern part of Cameron County which includes: Brownsville, Los Fresnos, Olmito, Rancho Viejo, Port Isabel, and South Padre Island. 

Arroyo District              Click here 

The Arroyo District covers the northern part of Cameron County and Willacy County which includes: Harlingen, San Benito, Raymondville, La Feria, Lyford, Rio Hondo and Sebastian. 

Arrowhead District        Click here

The Arrowhead District covers Most of Hidalgo County which includes:  McAllen, Delmita, Edinburg Garciasville and Mission.

Rio Bravo District          Click here

The Rio Bravo District Covers the Southern part of Hidalgo County, Starr County, Zapata County  which includes: Alamo, Donna,  Mercedes, Pharr, Progresso, La Villa, Monte Alto, Elsa, Edcouch, Hargill, Linn, San Juan, Rio Grande City, Roma, and Sullivan City, and Weslaco.

Annual Report

2011 annual report  to download (financial figures are audited). 

All financials, 990 and audits are available for viewing at our main office.

6912 West Expressway 83, Harlingen, Texas 78552.

Please contact us in advance at 956-423-0250.

Social Media

We are proud to communicate to our community in many different manners and media. We have several forms of internal email blast. Also, we have a growing  Facebook, Twitter, Flicker and Google Plus group of followers! Join us and follow us with your favorite media method. We just want to get the word out!

© 2014  Rio Grande Council, Boy Scouts of America - Copyrights - All Rights Reserved

Ranked among the top 10% of councils in America, by Cub Scouts and Cub Scout Parents!

Click Here

Do you want to know more Click Here


 Partner Agency of North Cameron County & South Texas United Way